T.V. Shows I Miss From the ’70s

We all have T.V. shows from the past that we wish were still on.  Unfortunately, nothing lasts forever and all shows eventually get cancelled, whether we still loved them or not.

I thought I’d share with you the ones that were my favorite.  You might even miss a couple of these yourself.

Charlie’s Angels

Charlie’s Angels was the only immediately obvious hit of the 1976-77 season. By the end of the season, 59% of all TV viewers were watching the show in its time slot. It stayed in the Nielson ratings “Top Ten” for the first three seasons.

Jill Monroe’s hairstyle became such a hit with Charlie’s Angels female viewers that a huge number of them changed to what became popularly known as “Farrah Fawcett Hairdo”.

Charlie’s Angels was the first TV show to get more than $100,000 per minute for advertising.

Charlie’s Angels was originally going to be about three lady cops and would be called “Alley Cats”. Kate Jackson came up with the idea of making the ladies detectives instead of cops. She also recommended that the series be named, “Harry’s Angels”, and that Harry should never be seen and would only be heard on the telephone. All of her suggestions were used except that “Harry’s Angels” was changed to “Charlie’s Angels”. The only reason that was changed was because there was already a series titled, “Harry O” and the producers didn’t want any confusion with or misconceptions about their new show. Kate Jackson’s great instincts for what would work and what wouldn’t later got her fired from Charlie’s Angels for continuously griping about how terrible the scripts were. We’ll never know how many more seasons Charlie’s Angels may have run if they’d listened to Kate.

My thoughts:  I loved this show.  Farrah Fawcett’s hair was iconic and believe it or not, my favorite angel was Kate Jackson.  She was not only pretty, but was sweet as well.

The Dukes of Hazzard

The Dukes of Hazzard TV show was a 60 minute comedy series that aired on CBS. The man in charge of Hazzard County was Boss Hogg. He had the Sheriff in his pocket and had something on just about everyone else. He couldn’t rule the Dukes though no matter how hard he tried! Hogg’s henchmen just weren’t anywhere near smart enough to catch Bo and Luke Duke so they did pretty much as they pleased. The Sheriff’s department’s vehicles were no match for the Duke boys’ car either. They just ate the Dukes’ dust! They tried to catch them but they nearly always ended out in a crash. If the Sheriff blocked them, they’d always manage to simply jump over the squad car! Good ole boys thumbing their noses at corrupt law enforcement made for a really entertaining show!

My thoughts:  Great action show.  Loved to see the Duke brothers always getting the best of Boss Hogg.  Loved that sexy Daisy as well.  Did you know that the short jean short style “Daisy Dukes” originated with her?  Thanks Daisy!

Photo Credit: seducingwithstyle.com

Happy Days

The Happy Days TV show was a 30 minute comedy series on ABC that followed the lives of the Cunningham family who lived in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in the 1950s. Don’t forget Fonzie either; the tough on the outside but soft on the inside biker. The soda joints, drive-in restaurants, juke boxes and all the other typical 1950s stuff made Happy Days a unique television experience!

My thoughts:  Absolutely adored this show.  I thought The Fonz was SO cool and I loved the way they lived back in the 50s.  I also had a huge crush on Scott Baio and thought that Erin Moran was stunningly beautiful.

Photo Credit: jackmblogs.wordpress.com

The Jeffersons

The Jeffersons TV show was a 30 minute comedy series on CBS about George Jefferson and his family who had recently moved on up to the East Side after years of struggling to build their dry-cleaning business.

My thoughts:  This show was hilarious.  I loved the way Louise’s mother and their maid both picked on George (who, in my opinion deserved it – he was like the black version of Archie Bunker!).

Laverne & Shirley

The Laverne and Shirley TV show was a 30 minute comedy series on ABC about two single females living in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in the late 1950′s. (Early 1960′s in Los Angeles, California starting in the 6th season). The series followed their lives as they worked hard during the day at a brewery and worked hard at night seeking romance and rarely finding any (although Shirley did eventually meet a Doctor and married him). A variety of goofy characters keep the series interesting.

My thoughts:  This was sort of a spin-off to Happy Days.  Laverne & Shirley made a few guest appearances on Happy Days, usually as dates for Fonzie.  My favorite characters were Lenny & Squiggy.  Squiggy was hilarious…just his voice made me laugh!

Little House on the Prairie

The Little House on the Prairie TV show was a 60 minute drama series on NBC that featured the Ingalls family’s struggles to survive the harsh life of pioneers in the 1800s on the Kansas plains. As time went by, they prospered in this new land but, of course, there were continuing challenges to their prosperity. Luckily, their love, “close-knit” family life and wonderful friends were always there to help them endure.

My thoughts:  Loved this show.  It showed a much simpler time without any of our creature comforts like electricity.  They worked hard and they loved even harder.  I don’t know how many times this show made me cry.  If I happen to find this playing on TV, my family won’t let me watch it.  Nothing blows up and there are no boob shots.

The Love Boat

The Love Boat TV show was a 60 minute comedy series on ABC about various couples’ romantic encounters aboard a luxury cruise ship and the crew’s interactions with themselves and the passengers. Each week, well-known stars from other TV shows or movies would appear as guest stars.

My thoughts:  Great show but I didn’t really watch it for the regular characters.  I watched it more for the weekly guest stars.

Mash

The M*A*S*H TV show was a 30 minute comedy series on CBS about a unit of doctors and nurses who had been the torn from their personal lives and thrown into a muddy, bug infested camp in the middle of the Korean war! Most of them didn’t want to be there. Their careers had just been “taking off” after years of medical education and training and now their rewards were being denied them. But when they heard the “choppers” coming in with wounded soldiers, all that was forgotten. They became the only hope close enough to the fighting to help the injured. When their work was done, they could go back to their drinking and complaining and sometimes romance in an effort to forget their miserable plight. This TV series did the impossible. It somehow found a way to be a comedy with a very non-comical premise. Most of the comedy revolved around the “draftees” pulling practical jokes on the career military personnel.

My thoughts:  Great show and I still watch the reruns once in awhile.  I loved the characters and it was just awesome how they could create humor in such a serious event as the Korean war.  It wasn’t always funny though.  I still remember the episode where Colonel Potter was shot down in his helicopter and killed and of course, show’s season finale which broke viewing records.

The Muppet Show

The Muppet Show was a 30 minute kids TV series that that aired on ITV in the United Kingdom and then in syndication in the United States. Big name guest stars appeared in skits and song routines with puppets that often pulled jokes on the guests or teased them. It was all in good fun and became one of the foremost series that an entire family could enjoy watching together. The kiddies loved the Muppets. Teens and adults enjoyed seeing their favorite stars in situations that they normally didn’t get to see them in and also got to see them more like a regular person than like a star.

My thoughts:  It used to play just after our dinner time and we never missed it.  My favorite characters were Animal, as well as the old hecklers in the balcony, Statler and Waldorf.

The Partridge Family

The Partridge Family TV show was a 30 minute comedy series on ABC about a widowed mother of five kids who formed a pop music group together in order to pay the bills. Their agent who wasn’t crazy about kids and would typically get involved in some aggravating situation with them. Besides the musical aspect of the series, it also involved the usual problems and solutions involving a single mom raising kids on her own.

My thoughts:  David Cassidy.  Just sayin’.

Photo credit: last.fm

Three’s Company

The Three’s Company TV show was a 30 minute situation comedy series on ABC about two single girls who needed a third roommate when their current roommate Eleanor decided to move. After throwing a going away party for Eleanor, they found a young man (Jack Tripper) sleeping in their bathtub. After careful consideration, they decided that he would be the perfect roommate … almost. They would definitely feel safer with a man in the house. They were both lousy cooks and he was a chef by trade! The only downfall was that their apartment manager, Mr. Roper, had a firm rule about singles of the opposite sex not engaging in “hanky-panky” in his building. Mrs. Roper wouldn’t have minded. She only wished that there was a little more “hanky-panky” going on in the Roper apartment! Anyway, they convinced Mr. Roper to let Jack stay by leading him to believe that Jack was gay! This was the story-line of many of the scripts. Jack was a “swinging single”, perfectly straight young man and often has to explain to Mr. Roper why he’s kissing some beautiful girl, getting a phone call from a girl for a date, etc. Jack never “scored” with any of his roommates though, but not for a lack of trying!

My thoughts:  This show would drive me nuts today, with all the jumping to conclusions it did, but it was pretty funny at the time.  While most people were staring at Suzanne Somers, I thought Joyce Dewitt was gorgeous.  This was the first time I actually thought a woman with short hair was beautiful.

Photo credit: thefullwiki.org


The Waltons

The Waltons TV show was a 60 minute drama series on CBS about a family who lived and loved on Waltons mountain. They didn’t have many material things but they had a deep love for each other and their large number of friends. Oh yes, they also owned their own mountain – Walton’s mountain!  The Waltons TV show was so popular that there were six reunion movies televised after the series ended!

My thoughts:  I still love this show and laugh at the simplicity of those times.  I really believed at one time that I would love to live like this…but now I’m not so sure.  Could I really live permanently without my laptop and facebook? :-P   Oh…and I also had a crush on Jim Bob. (Boy, I had a lot of crushes when I was young.  Who’d have known that all you needed to get good ratings is a good looking boy (or girl)?

I’d like to thank Crazy About Tv for all the great pictures and information about each of these shows.  Did I choose any from this decade that you enjoyed as well?  If so, let me know and tell me why you liked them.  Surely you’re not as superficial as I am and watched them for the cute boys. :-)

Categories: blogging, television, True to Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 33 Comments

Post navigation

33 thoughts on “T.V. Shows I Miss From the ’70s

  1. The 70s have a bad reputation for disco and being a wasted decade. Thanks for reminding me of the fun we had! True Confession: I liked disco too.

    • I can’t believe I’m going to admit this on the blogosphere, but I also liked it, back when it was new and in style. My brother and I even had a dance routine that we did at weddings.

      • SOOO awesome! You know, come to think of it I have a lot of different music in my collection, but I’m pretty sure I don’t have any disco. I guess it was great new, but just couldn’t stand the test of time. Unlike these t.v. shows!

        • I know, right? There were other shows that were good too and it was really hard to pick just a few. I really don’t miss thee clothes we wore though. I watch That 70′s Show and cringe when I look at the plaid pants and Farrah Fawcett hairstyles.

  2. Pingback: Blogroll Inductee – Wendy Reid and Miss Four Eyes | A Clown On Fire

  3. Androgoth

    Yes it is funny how we can all relate to these 1970′s
    shows, of course out of all of these I do like that sweet
    looking gorgeous Charlie’s Angel Jacqueline Smith :) :)
    I always had a crush on her you know, well I don’t mind
    admitting it either :) lol Now MASH is still on the re-runs
    after all these years, and let’s face it one never tires of
    watching a classic such as this one clearly is :)

    The Muppets are also rather wicked, especially that
    Animal on the drums :) Daisy Dukes certainly captivated
    an audience also, well she was soooooo naughty :)

    Thank you for the 1970′s
    TV Show Extravaganza Wendy ;)

    Have a lovely evening and a great start to your Thursday ;)

    Androgoth XXx

    • Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. :-)

      • Androgoth

        Hey I will back on your morrow,
        I have turned off all the e mailings
        on here, they clutter my inbox and
        soooo I never know what anyone
        has posted, I noticed that you had
        been very busy and I will be calling
        by in the morning for a good nosy :)

        Have a lovely evening Wendy :) ;)

        Androgoth XXx

  4. I watched all of these. Just a bit of trivia…M*A*S*H is my all time favorite show. Colonel Potter went home to Mildred and would star in the US after the war version of M*A*S*H with Klinger. It was Lt. Col. Henry Blake who was shot down. Radar entered the OR without a mask and read from the telegraph wire feed. His plane was shot down over the Sea of Japan…there were no survivors.
    Muah!
    Red.
    xxx
    PS I have them on DVD *Grins*

    • Oh yeah, that’s right, it was Blake and not Potter. And I still remember that scene with Radar almost to the word…just mixed up the 2 old coots~! I loved that show as well. :-)

  5. Those were the days! Happy Days!

  6. I liked the Dukes of Hazard; thought growing up in rural Maine I always thought we should have our own version of the show with snowmobiles. Only problem is there were too few opportunities to witness the Daisy Dukes in the snow… ;)

  7. I also liked the A-Team. Yeah, no surprize from explosion girl. Tee Hee. I young. I had such a thing for Dirk Benedict. Ahhhh Statbuck… Battlestar Galactica… there was another one. And the mini series “V”

    Oh, gosh stop me! I am so outing myself with my age!!!!!!

    • hehehe…that’s ok, I think most of the people who visit are our age anyways…and yes, I didn’t pick ALL the shows I missed, just narrowed it to 10. Going to do the 80′s and 90′s as well I think. (so the young’uns get to participate) ;-)

  8. OMIGOSH! We love the Muppets here. My favorite Christmas movie is the Muppets Christmas Carole. “Light the Lamp not the Rat” Classic comedy. The movies are actually my favorites. My husband and the boys can’t get enough of Muppets from space.

    When they did rainbow connection in the new muppet movie, I cried. Ahhhh… the good old days.

    • We had a radio station in Montreal that apparently locked their doors (so that their producer couldn’t get into the sound booth) and played that song the entire day. I loved it! :-)

  9. Boy did I ever love the Dukes of Hazzard!

  10. Oh, my, Wendy, thank you for that walk down memory lane! I watched every one of those shows except the Dukes of Hazzard and The Waltons. I wish I could say they were all in reruns when I watched them, but sadly I can’t. I still sing the Love Boat theme song when we take a cruise, and I expect to see Julie and Gopher just around the corner!

    And really, David Cassidy? Need one say more?…

    • Hopefully it brought back some good memories. I absolutely loved David Cassidy and his brother Shawn as well. Thanks for visiting! :-)

      • Oh, yes, I was a Hardy Boys fan, too. But Parker Stevenson was more my type. I was convinced I would marry him some day. :)

        • In the near future, I’m going to do a post on teenage heart-throbs through the last few decades. That should bring back a lot of good memories as well. :-)

Talk to me

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

QBG_Tilted Tiara

Philosophically Speaking the World in Motion

The M3 Blog

M3~ Where Everything Matters~ Good advice delivered with a bit of snark, humor...and poetry.

heylookawriterfellow

A blog by Mike Allegra, a friendly children's book author.

Miss Four Eyes

Everything is better through a pair of ridiculously large glasses

Nine Cent Girl

Fashion, Family, Food... Life!

Welcome to Canadica!

...where Canada and America form one hilarious blog.

Lame Adventures

A Humor Blog

Speaker7

speaks to the masses of people not reading this blog

Sips of Jen and Tonic

Writing that's straight up with a twist

Jennifer M Eaton

The Home of the Ranting Writer. “Learn from My Mistakes”

